Practice matches locked in for Saturday

ALL TEN AFL Women's teams will take part in practice matches on Saturday ahead of the season's start on February 2.

Reigning premiers the Western Bulldogs will once again play their practice match at Mars Stadium in Ballarat, north-west of Melbourne. They will take on Collingwood at 5pm.

Both sides will be trialling new line-ups, having lost a number of players to expansion sides Geelong and North Melbourne.

Greater Western Sydney will be hoping for a repeat of its stunning 50-point thumping of Brisbane in last year's practice match, which pre-empted a rise up the ladder for the vastly improved Giants.

The Lions will host the Giants at Leyson Park, Yeronga, at 3pm. The game marks the first chance former Carlton skipper Lauren Arnell will have to represent her new club.

FULL FIXTURE Check out when and where your club plays

Expansion club Geelong will travel to Melbourne for its first AFLW practice match, against Carlton at Ikon Park at 11am.

The Cats' squad features three players who pulled on the navy blue in the first AFLW season: key forward Kate Darby, mid/forward Jordan Ivey and competitive midfielder Hayley Trevean.

Fellow newcomers North Melbourne will make the trek to Casey Fields in Melbourne’s outer-south-east to take on the Demons at 10am, with Roos Jasmine Grierson and Emma Humphries coming up against their old team.

Adelaide and Fremantle will play in their now-annual practice match at TIO Stadium in Darwin at 8pm. The Crows, who have a portion of their list based in the northern city, will also host the Dockers in a home and away match this season.

Geelong hosts Collingwood in the first match of the NAB AFLW season, on February 2 at GMHBA Stadium. The season-opener will be followed by the Adelaide-Western Bulldogs match at Norwood Oval later that night.


AFLW practice matches – Saturday, January 19 

Melbourne vs North Melbourne
10am (EDT)
Casey Fields, Cranbourne East 

Carlton vs Geelong
11am (EDT)
Ikon Park, North Carlton 

Brisbane vs Greater Western Sydney
3pm (EST)
Leyson Park, Yeronga  

Western Bulldogs vs Collingwood
5pm (EDT)
Mars Stadium, Ballarat 

Adelaide vs Fremantle
8pm (CST)
TIO Stadium, Darwin