Second Rising Star nominees named for Cats, Crows

GEELONG'S Olivia Purcell and Adelaide's Chloe Scheer are the round five NAB AFLW Rising Star nominees.

Both clubs now have two Rising Star nominations this season, with Purcell and Scheer joining Cat Nina Morrison (round one) and Crow Danielle Ponter (round four) in the running for the award.

RACE FOR FINALS Where is your team placed?

Purcell was one of Geelong's best in its upset 27-point win over Brisbane on Saturday.

The 18-year-old midfielder had 20 disposals (including 12 kicks), a whopping 10 tackles, three clearances and kicked an excellent snap goal in the third term while the match was still in the balance.

She has played every game for the Cats this year after being selected from St Mary's Football Club and the Geelong Falcons with pick 14 in the 2018 NAB AFLW Draft.

Purcell also played five matches for Geelong's VFLW side in 2018, including the Grand Final loss to Hawthorn.

Scheer was one of the most decorated junior footballers in South Australia before she was drafted by Adelaide with the 37th overall selection last year.

From Modbury in the Adelaide Footy League and North Adelaide in the SANFLW (South Australia has two female competitions), Scheer missed most of 2018 recovering from a left knee reconstruction.

FULL FIXTURE Check out when and where your club plays

The 19-year-old won three straight under-18 league best and fairest awards (2015-17), and a senior league best and fairest trophy in 2017, the year she injured her knee.

Against North Melbourne, Scheer had 12 disposals – including seven contested possessions – three marks and kicked one goal.

She has played four games this season (missing one through suspension), mainly as a forward, although she spent time on the ball against the Kangaroos.

Players are eligible for this year's award if they were 21 or under as of January 1, 2019, and had not been previously nominated.

2019 NAB AFLW Rising Star nominees

Round 1: Nina Morrison (Geelong) and Alyce Parker (Greater Western Sydney)

Round 2: Madison Prespakis (Carlton) and Sabreena Duffy (Fremantle)

Round 3: Courteney Munn (North Melbourne) and Eden Zanker (Melbourne)

Round 4: Danielle Ponter (Adelaide) and Sarah Dargan (Collingwood)

Round 5: Olivia Purcell (Geelong) and Chloe Scheer (Adelaide)