Grand Final-bound Blues coach wins AFLCA's top gong

AFTER taking Carlton from wooden-spooner to grand finalist in one year, coach Daniel Harford has been named the inaugural AFL Coaches' Association AFLW coach of the year.

The 10 AFLW coaches were asked to vote, with consideration given to on-field performance, available resources, player talent and team management.

AFLCA'S BEST PLAYER Superstar Phillips takes the crown 

Adelaide coach Matthew Clarke finished second, with Fremantle's Trent Cooper third. All three are in their first seasons at their respective clubs, and the trio coached in preliminary finals. 

"It's a fantastic achievement for Daniel in his first year as senior coach. It's no surprise that the game knowledge he has injected at the Blues, combined with his energy and enthusiasm, has reaped rewards this season," AFLCA CEO Mark Brayshaw said. 

"We congratulate Daniel on winning." 

2019 AFLCA AFLW Senior Coach of the Year Award

  1. Daniel Harford (Carlton)
  2. Matthew Clarke (Adelaide)
  3. Trent Cooper (Fremantle) 

For more information about the AFLCA, go to