Superstar Crow clinches second MVP award

ADELAIDE superstar Erin Phillips has won the AFLW Players' Association's Most Valuable Player award for the second time in three years, with the Crows co-captain voted a runaway winner by her peers.

A day after being named best on ground and leading her team to an AFLW premiership with a commanding Grand Final win over Carlton, Phillips added to her collection at the Association's lunch ceremony in Melbourne on Monday.


She's also favourite to take out her second AFLW Best and Fairest title, to be awarded in Melbourne on Tuesday night.

Phillips was voted the clear winner by her peers with 143 votes, ahead of Fremantle's Kiara Bowers (107) and Collingwood's Ashleigh Brazill (85).

The 33-year-old former basketball star was unable to attend the Players' Association event after tearing the anterior cruciate ligament in her left knee during the Adelaide Oval decider.

"It's a truly humbling experience to be voted by your peers as the most valuable player in the league," Phillips said in a statement.

"Individual accolades don't sit that well with me because it's your teammates and coaches who help you get to the level but I'm proud of what I've been able to achieve in my AFLW career so far.

"There's a huge amount of talent running around in the AFLW and it's increasing every year. The future of the competition is brighter than ever and I'm honoured to be a part of it."

Heartbreak as Erin Phillips suffers a knee injury

01:12 Mar 31. 2019. 2:28 PM

The AFLW and Crows superstar is stretchered off in the GF

For the third consecutive season, Adelaide defender Chelsea Randall took out the Most Courageous award - polling 105 votes ahead of Bowers (84).

Carlton skipper Brianna Davey edged out Phillips in the Best Captain award, with Crows co-captain Chelsea Randall (45) in third place.

It was Davey's first season back after rupturing her right ACL in round two, 2018, and the Blues made the Grand Final after finishing last previously.

"It's been a pretty crazy past 12 months," Davey said.

"You sort of forget, in a way, everything you've done. [Then] when you reflect and you think about it, you remember all the little tedious things, the times it was tough and the good times too.

"Big 12 months, and that sort of process and rehab you don't wish on anyone. I know a couple of girls went down yesterday and it doesn't look too good for them at the moment, so I wish both Erin (Phillips) and Chloe (Scheer) the best, hopefully they'll be all right."

The players also crowned another newcomer, with Carlton youngster Madison Prespakis taking out the Best First Year Player award in an overwhelming result.

Prespakis polled 149 votes, beating GWS youngster Alyce Parker by 114 votes, with Fremantle's Sabreena Duffy in third.

Brianna Davey and Madison Prespakis with their awards from the AFLPA MVP presentation on Monday