Winter is coming: Revamped Queensland series returns

A REVAMPED Queensland Women's Winter Series will see the state's best talent play for Brisbane and Gold Coast across three matches.

Last year, two representative sides from New South Wales – Giants North and Giants South – also played, but in 2019 Greater Western Sydney will play five invitational matches in the VFLW.

Unlike Victorian AFLW sides, Brisbane and Gold Coast don't have their own sides in the QAFLW state league, meaning they somewhat lose touch with their AFLW teams between seasons. 

The QW Winter Series has been designed to bridge this gap somewhat and will see one match played in each of May, June and July. 

The series will also serve as a selection process for a Queensland state side who will play Western Australia on 20 July. 

Squads will be made up of a combination of AFLW and state league players, as well as select under-18s who are eligible for the draft at the end of the year.

"By providing opportunities for elite female players to develop their skills during the winter, we are aiming for the QAFLW to become the preferred high-performance competition for talented Queensland players," AFLQ state female talent manager Kath Newman said.

The first game will be the second match in a triple-header at Metricon Stadium on Saturday, May 25, with Gold Coast's NEAFL and AFL sides playing either side of the Winter Series clash. 

Game two will be played at Great Barrier Reef Stadium in Mackay on Sunday, June 23, while the third match will be a standalone affair at the Gabba on Saturday, July 13.

QW Winter Series Fixture

Game 1 
Gold Coast vs Brisbane
Saturday, 25 May, 4.45pm
Metricon Stadium

Game 2 
Gold Coast vs Brisbane
Saturday, 23 June, 12.00pm
Great Barrier Reef Arena, Mackay

Game 3 
Brisbane vs Gold Coast
Saturday 13 July, 2.00pm
The Gabba

Representative Match
Queensland vs Western Australia
Saturday, 20 July
Optus Stadium, Perth