The hunt is over: Tigers name inaugural coach

RICHMOND has appointed its inaugural AFLW coach ahead of its entry to the competition in 2020, with Tom Hunter handed the reins.

Hunter has been the club's VFLW coach for the past two seasons and also runs the club's women's academy.

Richmond's VFLW side is currently sitting second on the ladder, undefeated after five matches.

The 28-year-old is a level 3 accredited coach who has previously been an assistant coach with Richmond VFL and under-18 representative side Calder Cannons.

"Tom has been heavily involved in our AFLW recruitment process and is the perfect person to lead this team's exciting step into the competition," Richmond general manager of football Neil Balme said.

"The way the playing group has been able to thrive and develop under Tom is a testament to him and the elite football program he has helped to build.

"We have the utmost confidence that Tom, with his enthusiasm, strong communication skills and passion for development, is the right person to coach this group into the AFLW."

Hunter was on Collingwood's rookie list in 2010 and 2011 but was forced into retirement at age 20 without playing an AFL game due to several serious neck injuries.

"I'm pretty proud of what we've been able to put in place for the women's program at Richmond," Hunter said.

"It started with the VFLW 18 months ago, and now it leads into AFLW next year. It's really special."

His appointment means just one AFLW side is currently without a senior coach, after Paul Groves stepped down from the Western Bulldogs earlier this week to take up a job outside of football.

AFLW senior coaches:

Adelaide – Matthew Clarke
Brisbane – Craig Starcevich
Carlton – Daniel Harford
Collingwood – Stephen Symonds
Fremantle – Trent Cooper
Geelong – Paul Hood
Gold Coast (entering 2020) – David Lake
GWS – Alan McConnell
Melbourne – Mick Stinear
North Melbourne – Scott Gowans
Richmond (entering 2020) – Tom Hunter
St Kilda (entering 2020) – Peta Searle
West Coast (entering 2020) – Luke Dwyer
Western Bulldogs – N/A