State league Grand Finals: All the winners from around the country part two

CLARENCE, Collingwood and East Fremantle are the toast of their respective states, having all tasted premiership glory.

Women's state league footy has wrapped up around the country, with the second portion of our two-part feature looking at the action from Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia.



Clarence upset hot favourites and undefeated side Launceston to win by three points in the TSLW decider.

Despite being 10 points down at three-quarter time, Clarence had the wind in the final term and the only two goals of the term.

Former North Melbourne forward Maddy Smith, who was unable to make her AFLW debut due to a knee injury, was best afield with a four-goal performance.

Launceston was well-represented by Kangaroos, with Daria Bannister (three goals) and twins Chloe and Libby Haines named in their side's best.

Defender Nicole Bresnehan also starred, playing for Clarence.

LAUNCESTON     6.2     7.5     8.6     8.6  (54)
CLARENCE           3.1     6.1     7.2     9.3  (57)

Launceston: Bannister 3, C. Haines 2, Rattray 2, Hill
Clarence: Smith 4, Mitchell 2, Wise, Harper, Williams

Launceston: Bannister, L. Haines, C. Haines, Hill, Taylor, Dickson
Clarence: Smith, Bresnehan, Scott, Alomes, Pearce, Johnson 


A commanding best-on-ground performance from centre-half back Stacey Livingstone led Collingwood to its first piece of women's football silverware, defeating the Western Bulldogs by 37 points at Ikon Park.

Livingstone repelled countless attacking forays by the Bulldogs, setting herself high up the ground and ensuring repeat Magpie inside-50 entries.

A few rushed shots on goal early meant Collingwood didn't quite get the scoreboard pressure it deserved, with Dogs Brooke Lochland (playing as a high half-forward) and midfielders Kirsty Lamb and VFL-listed Ellie Gavalas battling hard.

A two-goal burst from Sophie Alexander towards the end of the third term broke the game open for the Pies, and from there they cruised to the finish.

VFLW leading goalkicker and Magpie Jaimee Lambert was always lurking in dangerous spots, while under-18 players Gemma Lagioia, Nicola Xenos (Collingwood) and Sophie Molan (Bulldogs) did their draft hopes no harm with composed performances.


WESTERN BULLDOGS     0.1     2.1     2.1     2.3     (15)
COLLINGWOOD     2.6     2.6     5.9     7.10     (52)

Western Bulldogs: Mackay, Molan
Collingwood: Lambert 2, Alexander 2, Cann, Lagioia, Molloy

Western Bulldogs: Lochland, Gavalas, Lamb, Ferres, Ruedin, Guest
Collingwood: Livingstone, Lambert, Lagioia, Layton, Xenos, Davey


East Fremantle was too strong for Swan Districts, winning the first WAFLW premiership in the revamped competition.

Gabby O'Sullivan (East Fremantle/Fremantle AFLW) was awarded best on ground for her four-quarter performance and her run and disposal was integral in the Sharks establishing a four-goal lead at half-time.

Evie Gooch – who is normally found in defence for Fremantle at AFLW level – impressed in the middle of the ground, with up-and-coming under-18 forward Roxy Roux kicking two goals. 

The speedy Ash Sharp pushed up the ground well, particularly early in the fourth term when the Swans threatened to close the gap, and West Coast's Ashlee Atkins was solid throughout.

Another player to have represented Western Australia in the under-18 championships this year is Swan Districts' Mim Strom, who was strong in the ruck. 

EAST FREMANTLE     2.1     5.3     6.3     8.3     (51)
SWAN DISTRICTS     0.1     1.2     3.2     4.4     (28)

East Fremantle: Roux 2, Sparke 2, Atkins, Tapner, O'Sullivan, Ashley
Swan Districts: Sharp, Gibson, Hyde, Davison

East Fremantle: O'Sullivan, Gooch, Roux, Atkins, Pluschke
Swan Districts: Strom, Cain, Sharp, Gibson, Bowen