Irish star dominates Combine with three top-two finishes

IRISH Gaelic footballer Olivia Divilly has starred in the NAB AFLW Draft Combine, finishing in the top two of three tests.

Galway's Divilly recorded the best result in the Yo-Yo test (level 17.2) and came second in both the 20-metre sprint (3.258 seconds) and the two-kilometre time trial (7:48).

There were three Irishwomen invited to this year's Combine – Divilly, Vikki Wall and Saoirse Noonan (who did not test due to a knee complaint) – which finished on Wednesday night in Melbourne.

The trio have been given permission to nominate for the entire country in the upcoming NAB AFLW Draft on 22 October, unlike locals who must choose a region in the state-based draft.

If local players aren't picked up in the draft by a team in their nominated area, they can be selected as a free agent by a side outside of their zone if there are spots available.

Lively forward/ruck Roxanne Roux – who is expected to be drafted by Fremantle as it holds the first pick in the West Australian zone – demonstrated her explosive power across the tests.

Roux finished first in the standing vertical jump, third in the 20-metre sprint and third in the agility test.

Mackay's Hannah Hillman made the most of her later call-up to the Combine following the signing of Taylor Smith to Gold Coast, winning the two-kilometre time trial.

Two players at the Combine – Queensland's Tarni White and NSW/ACT's Brenna Tarrant – have nominated outside their home states, both choosing Victoria for the upcoming draft.

Seven of the 47 players did not test due to injuries: Noonan, possible Bulldogs father-daughter Isabella Grant (back), Queenslanders Dee Heslop (shoulder) and Georgia Brehmer, Tasmanian Mia King (knee), West Australian Emma O'Driscoll (shoulder) and Victorian Nikia Webber.

Standing vertical jump:

Roxanne Roux (Western Australia): 59cm
Molly Denahy-Maloney (Vic Metro): 58cm
Marguerite Purcell (Vic Metro): 53cm
Tahlia Hickie (Queensland): 52cm
Hannah Munyard (South Australia): 51cm
Record: Jess Allan (South Australia, now GWS) in 2017: 61cm 

20-metre sprint:

Nicola Xenos (Vic Metro): 3.210 seconds
Olivia Divilly (Ireland): 3.258 seconds
Roxanne Roux (Western Australia): 3.250 seconds
Vikki Wall (Ireland): 3.299 seconds
Hannah Munyard (South Australia): 3.307 seconds
Record: Emerson Woods (Vic Metro, now Carlton) in 2018: 3.129 seconds


Elisabeth Georgostathis (Vic Metro): 8.535 seconds
Isabel Dawes (Queensland): 8.651 seconds
Roxanne Roux (Western Australia): 8.654 seconds
Hannah Munyard (South Australia): 8.668 seconds
Tarni White (Queensland): 8.696 seconds
Record: Ruby Blair (Queensland, formerly Brisbane) in 2017: 8.495 seconds 


Olivia Divilly (Ireland): 17.2
Georgia Garnett (NSW/ACT): 16.8
Sophie Molan (Vic Country): 16.4
Paige Sheppard (Vic Country): 16.3
Serene Watson (Queensland), Luka Lesosky-Hay (Vic Country) and Gemma Lagioia (Vic Metro): 16.1
Record: Nina Morrison (Vic Country, now Geelong) in 2018: 18.1 

Two-kilometre time trial:

Hannah Hillman (Queensland): 7min 41sec
Olivia Divillly (Ireland): 7min 48sec
Nicola Xenos (Vic Metro): 7min 58sec
Gemma Lagioia (Vic Metro): 8min 1sec
Ella Wood (Vic Country) and Tahlia Hickie (Queensland): 8min 9sec
Record: Nina Morrison (Vic Country, now Geelong) in 2018: 7min 14sec