Queensland's premier women's competition aligns with AFLW for 2020 season

AFL Queensland will undergo a significant change to its schedule next season, aligning the Bond University QAFLW Season with the 2020 NAB AFL Women's fixture.

While most of the women's state league competitions begin after the completion of the AFLW season, the QAFLW will join the SANFLW in starting in February. 

Round one of the 2020 Bond University QAFLW Season will take place on the weekend of February 29-March 1, which will coincide with round four of the AFLW.  

The aim of the move is to allow Gold Coast and Brisbane players not getting game time in the AFLW to be able to play football each week during the final five rounds of the AFLW season as well as the three weeks of finals.

The changes will be beneficial for both the AFLW and QAFLW listed players, according to Brisbane Lions women's football CEO Bree Brock.

Yeronga South Brisbane's Jacqui Yorston and University of Queensland's Greta Bodey contest for the ball during a QAFLW game. Picture: Jono Searle/AFL Media

"I think it's a huge benefit to the playing groups' psyche. We haven't had that before," Brock said.

"For the QAFLW competition, it allows other [non-AFLW] players to play bigger roles and have greater opportunity. We'll now see more talent rise up through the competition."

Gold Coast head of women's football Fiona McLarty told aflq.com.au: "It's really valuable for us to give players who aren't in the AFLW side some real game time while the season is running, rather than just rely on training sessions for them to build form."

The QAFLW season will be extended to a 16-game competition, spread across 23 weeks with four League-wide bye rounds.

Those bye weeks will coincide with the Queensland under-18 state representative camp in May. 

Bye rounds will be scheduled in June and July to accommodate for the NAB AFL Women's Under-18 National Championships. 

The QAFLW Grand Final will be played on Sunday, August 2.

Coolangatta Tweed forward Bri McFarlane celebrates a goal in the QAFLW. Picture: David Layden