Players' survey: Who will win the AFLW Rising Star award?

WILL there be back-to-back NAB AFLW Rising Star winners at Carlton?

Utility Lucy McEvoy has been nominated in a player survey – which saw one player from each club anonymously answering questions – as favourite to take out the award.

Tenacious Blues midfielder Maddy Prespakis was awarded the Rising Star in 2018 after an impressive debut season.

PLAYERS' SURVEY Who is the best forward in AFLW?
PLAYERS' SURVEY Who is the best defender in AFLW?
PLAYERS’ SURVEY Which new team will be the best in 2020?

The unflappable McEvoy was named under-18 All Australian captain in 2019, and has picked up four All Australian nods over the past four years, across an incredible three different lines.

Tipped to line up either in defence or on the ball for Carlton after being taken with pick No.2, McEvoy has been earmarked as a long-term replacement for departed skipper Bri Davey.

"Having seen and played against her, Lucy McEvoy. If she can play midfield at Carlton, she's an awesome size for it. She can beat up on the little guys, she can kick both left and right and she's got a lot of smarts for her age," one player said.

The No.1 draft pick, athletic forward-midfielder Gabby Newton (pictured below), received three votes to McEvoy's five to win the Rising Star award.

A host of players were given one vote each, including West Coast duo Mikayla Bowen and Sophie McDonald.

Voting results
5 – Lucy McEvoy (Carlton)
3 – Gabby Newton (Western Bulldogs)
1 – Mikayla Bowen (West Coast), Maggie Gorham (GWS), Sophie McDonald (West Coast), Georgia Patrikios (St Kilda), Lily Postlethwaite (Brisbane), Serene Watson (Gold Coast)

This is part of a series which saw 14 players – one from every club – surveyed anonymously about who they regard as the best in the competition. Check back to as the final question is answered in the coming days.