UPDATE: AFLW finals fixture revealed, no second chances

THE UPDATED finals fixture for the NAB AFLW competition has been released. 

All finals are elimination affairs, meaning whoever is crowned premier will have had to win three consecutive matches to get there.

WATCH IT LIVE How to follow the AFLW this weekend

The first-placed side in Conference A, North Melbourne, will play the fourth-placed side in Conference B, Collingwood, and vice versa with Fremantle (first in B) and Gold Coast (fourth in A). 

The remaining two semi-finals are also cross-over matches, with GWS (second in A) taking on Melbourne (third in B) and Carlton (second in B) hosting Brisbane (third in A). 

Teams for this weekend will be released on Friday.


That's a Wrap: AFLW R6, historic shootout and a second-half Blue blitz

09:49 Mar 17. 2020. 6:42 PM

AFLW experts Jason Bennett and Sarah Black discuss one of the most unique weekends in football history

Semi-finals, March 21-22

Semi-final 1
North Melbourne v Collingwood
Ikon Park
Semi-final 2
GWS Giants v Melbourne
Giants Stadium
Semi-final 4
Fremantle v Gold Coast
Fremantle Oval

AFLCA VOTES, R6 Roo hops into top spot on the leaderboard

Semi-final 3
Carlton v Brisbane Lions
Ikon Park

From there, the winners of semi-finals one (North Melbourne/Collingwood) and three (Carlton/Brisbane) will face off in a preliminary final, with the winners of semi-finals two (GWS/Melbourne) and four (Fremantle/Gold Coast) to do the same. 

Preliminary finals, March 28-29

Preliminary final 1 – winner of Semi-final 1 v winner of Semi-final 3
Preliminary final 2 – winner of Semi-final 2 v winner of Semi-final 4 

The Grand Final will be held on the weekend of April 4 and 5. 

Finals, which will be closed to the public, will be shown live on both the Seven Network and Fox Sports, as well as streamed live on womens.afl and the official AFLW app.

The finals series was originally slated to be a six-team affair starting in two weeks' time, but it has been brought forward as a response to the coronavirus crisis in a decision made on Wednesday night. 

This was the AFLW playing group's preferred structure – as nominated in a survey conducted by the AFLPA on Monday night – to compensate for the final two rounds being cut.

It will be Gold Coast's first ever finals series as a club, with the AFL side having so far failed to finish in the top eight.

Suns hero Kalinda Howarth celebrates victory with her teammates. Picture: AFL Photos

Adelaide's very outside chance of defending its premiership is over, while Geelong, the Western Bulldogs, St Kilda, Richmond and West Coast will also miss out on finals.

"We would like to acknowledge and pay tribute to all 14 clubs and players in our competition, who have worked incredibly hard across the season. They should be extremely proud of what they have achieved," AFL head of women's football Nicole Livingstone said.

"Particularly to the clubs that will be concluding their 2020 season; Adelaide Crows, Geelong, Western Bulldogs, and new comers West Coast Eagles, St Kilda and Richmond, thank you for your care and commitment to AFLW, your programs and your players.

"We look forward to the next three weeks of finals, and wish all eight teams the best of luck."