AFLPA award winners revealed: MVP, best captain, more

NORTH Melbourne star Jasmine Garner has been rewarded for her stunning midfield move this season, capping a fantastic individual campaign by being named the AFL Players' Association AFLW MVP on Monday afternoon.

Garner, who moved to the midfield with great effect this year to average 20.1 disposals and 1.1 goals per game, was recognised by her peers to claim the award ahead of Carlton youngster Madison Prespakis and Collingwood midfielder Jaimee Lambert.

It comes after she was named as an All-Australian in the forward line throughout her first season with the Kangaroos last year.

Garner caps off stellar night

00:35 Mar 13. 2020. 10:03 PM

Jasmine Garner puts the icing on an emphatic Kangaroos win with her third major

"I’m truly proud to be recognised by the AFLW players’ as their MVP," Garner said.

"The AFLW competition has come so far in such a short space of time. All the players have put their heart and soul into performing, so for the cohort to value my contribution this highly is something I won’t forget."

In other awards handed out on Monday, Melbourne superstar Daisy Pearce was crowned the AFLW's best captain after a superb year following her season out of the game as she gave birth to twins.

St Kilda's first-round draft pick Georgia Patrikios was named the best first-year player, while Fremantle star Kiara Bowers was recognised as the AFLW's most courageous player after a remarkable season where she averaged 14.1 tackles per game.

Collingwood star Chloe Molloy was named captain of the inaugural AFLW 22under22 team, with Prespakis announced as her deputy. 


413 votes: Jasmine Garner (North Melbourne)
227 votes: Madison Prespakis (Carlton)
201 votes: Jaimee Lambert (Collingwood) 

Best Captain

69 votes: Daisy Pearce (Melbourne)
44 votes: Steph Chiocci (Collingwood)
42 votes: Alicia Eva (Greater Western Sydney)

Daisy Pearce: She's back

02:30 Feb 8. 2020. 9:00 AM

AFLW players discuss the impact Daisy Pearce will have on the competition in 2020

Most Courageous

76 votes: Kiara Bowers (Fremantle)
73 votes: Katie Loynes (Carlton)
64 votes: Isabel Huntington (Western Bulldogs)

Best First-Year Player

173 votes: Georgia Patrikios (St Kilda)
89 votes: Grace Egan (Carlton)
26 votes: Catherine Svarc (Brisbane)

22under22 team