Team Ponter dominates in NT All-Stars clash


TEAM Ponter has dominated proceedings in the Northern Territory edition of the NAB AFLW All-Stars match at TIO Stadium in Darwin, defeating Team Hewett by 28 points.

Led by NAB AFLW Draft hopeful Janet Baird, Western Bulldogs VFLW captain Mickayla Ward and Arnhem Crows livewire forward Ashanti Bush, Team Ponter lead from siren to siren in the 5.11 (41) to 2.1 (13) win. 

DRAFT PROFILES Find out more about 2020's leading prospects

Baird, who was a member of the 2018 NAB AFLW Academy, did her chances of selection no harm with a typically composed performance.

She was found all over the ground, taking intercept marks across defensive 50 and opening the scoring with a steady running goal.

Team Ponter's Janet Baird lays a tackle during the NAB AFLW All-Stars match. Picture: AFL Photos

Ward – sister of GWS' Callan – played at both ends of the ground and her steadiness shone through.

While the team's name-holder, Danielle Ponter, was unavailable due to rugby commitments, Bush's gliding run and agility more than filled the breach with a stunning third term, kicking 1.3.

U18 ALL-STARS Check out the full fixture and results

Dominique Carbone, 19, was powerful coming out of defence, rebounding well and proving difficult to bring down.

It was tough going for Team Hewett, with the ball near permanently camped in their backline. 

NAB AFLW Draft Combine invitee Freda Puruntatameri – who has also played for Essendon's VFLW side – was a strong presence at both ends of the ground for Team Hewett, clean below her knees and making good decisions.

Freda Puruntameri celebrates for Team Hewett. Picture: AFL Photos

Gold Coast's Jasmyn Hewett was dominant in the ruck, while Morgan Johnston and Georgia Johnson showed some clean skills under enormous pressure in defence.

Johnston had been training with Collingwood's VFLW side before the cancellation of the season and was one of her side's best.

DRAFT HUB Latest news, key dates, more

TEAM PONTER      1.2     3.4     5.10     5.11     (41)
TEAM HEWETT     0.1     1.1     1.1     2.1     (13)

Team Ponter: Bush, Baird, Althouse, Whittaker, Bryant, Carbone
Team Hewett: Johston, Hewett, G. Johnson, M. Johnson, Puruntatameri, Fabris

Team Ponter: Janet Baird, Annabel Kievet, Sarah Ingram, Molly Althouse, Ashanti Bush
Team Hewett: Freda Puruntatameri, Kyanne Campbell

Stay tuned to and the AFLW Official App for comprehensive coverage of the 2020 NAB AFLW Draft